RHYC/CA Winter Talks

We arrange a variety of talks throughout the Winter months: 

Sat 20th January - Two's Company - Martin & Elizabeth Bevan

(Bar Opens 1800, Supper 1845, Talk 2000)

Martin and Elizabeth Bevan spent 7 years from leaving the club in July 2010 on a 50,000 mile, 42 country, double handed circumnavigation. The final major leg starting in January 2017 was the somewhat unusual route from Cape Town via St Helena, Ascension Island, the Azores to Gibraltar. They will illustrate some of the highlights from this trip and in addition cover boat preparation and equipment, provisioning and maintenance in exotic places, navigation off the beaten track, aid work in Vanuatu and how they coped with long passages.

Thurs 25th January - The Antarctic, Pioneers of Sailing in the Southern Ocean - Paul Rodhouse

(Coffee/Cake 1100, Talk 1130, Lunch 1300)

Thurs 8th February - Pepys and the Navy of Charles II - David Davies
(Coffee/Cake 1100, Talk 1130, Lunch 1300)

Sat 17th February - Near and Far
(Bar Opens 1800, Supper 1845, Talk 2000)

Sat 24th February - The Cruising Commodore!
(Bar Opens 1800, Supper 1845, Talk 2000) 

Thurs 8th March - Visit to Observatory, to study stars
(Evening Visit)

Sat 10th March - Crewing Meeting
(Times to be confirmed)

Thurs 15th March - Visit to Observatory, to study stars
(Evening Visit)

Sat 17th March - The River Orwell
(Times to be confirmed)

Sat 5th - Mon 7th May - CA East Coast Rally
(Please refer to the CA for timings and further information)

To book Winter Talks and Meetings

Click HERE to BOOK!

(Please note bookings can only be made up to 90 days in advance)